Success at last!

Over the past month I have been tracking my diet via Tweet What You Eat and changing up my gym routine. This has enabled me to lose 2 pounds last month! Yay me! So I think I’ll stick with it for a bit. I’ve been averaging about 1350 calories a day and seem to be pretty satisfied with that.
The key was changing my routine at the gym though.

Before:
2-3 days a week
30 mins cardio
1 round of weights (3 sets of 3 exercises)
Total time: 45-60 mins

After:
4-5 days a week
30 mins of cardio (split into 10 min intervals)
3 rounds of weights (in between cardio)
Total time: 75-90 mins

So with the new system my heart rate stays within the proper range and I am committing myself to the appropriate amount of exercise it takes for my sluggish metabolism to get moving. Unfortunately, that is an awful lot of time, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. Anyone want to come?

2 thoughts on “Success at last!

  1. After hearing about this, I thought I'd give it a try. I've split my running into 10 minute intervals, and slowed it down a little. I actually like it a lot! If I get this going, I think I can actually increase the amount I run, while still getting some weights in.

    Before:
    3 days/week
    Run for 12 minutes at 5.5 mph, 4 minutes at 5.0, and walk for 4 (cool down). Then do weights.

    Now:
    2 days/week (this week)
    Run 10 minutes
    10 minutes weights
    Run 10 minutes
    10 minutes weights.

    Considering I go for about 50 minutes, I might be able to squeeze in another set of running, which would effectively double the time I've spent running in the past. Pretty cool.

  2. Shannon Stallard says:

    OMG!
    We should all get together and have a workout party. Wouldn't it be fun to all gather and do each others workout routines?

Leave a Reply

