Trusting your doctors

I went to have some blood drawn for food allergy testing and was talking to a guy in line. He said he’s been having migraines after eating bread so he tried giving bread up and he felt better. Obviously, he suspected a food allergy and mentioned this to his doctor. He said his doctor doesn’t believe in food allergies and refused to give him the bloodwork for testing. Now, I’m a little biased because I never went to the doctor when I was little, my mom believed Vitamin C was the cure for everything (right, mom?), and because I never relied on western medicine I have developed an alternative view on medical care, or more importantly, preventative care. Anyway, I believe that you have the best intuition about your body, and if you suspect something is wrong and your doctor refuses to even humor you with something as simple as a blood test, it’s time to find a different doctor.

I learned about the Healthwaves service from my nutrition instructor. They offer many blood tests such as cholesterol, thyroid, chem panels and more for very affordable pricing throughout the valley and you don’t have to go through a doctor. It is a little odd to have your blood drawn in the middle of the coffee aisle at the grocery store, but the low price and fast service is worth it. The lab results get mailed directly to you and they flag anything that is outside the normal range. You can then make a more informed decision about what kind of doctor you may need for necessary followup. Pretty cool, huh? I decided to do the complete food allergy panel and the Southwest inhalant panel. It’s about time I figured out what’s making me feel so icky! I’ll report back on results in a few weeks.

2 thoughts on “Trusting your doctors

  1. So, ignoring the anecdotes of one-off (and truly OFF) doctors, I'm fairly sure most doctors do have their patients' best interests in mind. I agree with you: if your doctor doesn't at the very least entertain your complaints, it's time to find a new one.

    One of the major problems with the health care in the US is that doctors are not in charge of health care: the drug companies research and make the drugs, the health management companies manage the money spent on health care, and the doctors and patients are screwed.

    Research into healthcare by unaffiliated doctors (say at universities and government research institutions) is almost certainly going to be more directed toward helping patients rather than helping employers.

    I, grew up with basically no access to western medicine: my family cured our problems with vitamin C, creosote tea, and any number of other folk remedies. I have a lot of respect for some remedies because they're basically long-term scientific projects. Others are pretty wacked-out and without basis.

    At the same time, consider that without some modern remedies, people would basically be miserable and would die young.

    Let's take, for exmaple, vaccines. There's a growing anti-vaccine movement out there that's causing unneeded pain and suffering to young children just because their parents are too stupid to understand what a vaccine is or how it works. If it weren't for the polio vaccine, childhood would still be a crapshoot. Because of the new cervical cancer vaccine, the 11,000 new cases of cervical cancer in 2008 may be decreased by as much as 50 to 70% in 2009 or 2010, if we can get the young girls of this country vaccinated…

    To stop rambling… Basically, I do not think western medicine is as bad as most people like to make it out to be. There are definitely problems with it, but considering health issues from a century or two ago, I'd rather be living in the here and now…

  2. I know an awful lot of people that wouldn't be here today if it weren't for modern medicine. So I'm grateful for that.

    However, the more I learn about our healthcare system the more it seems the major drug companies have their sticky little hands in everything and that ultimately affects patient care since the majority of research is done by the manufacturer of that particular drug.

    If you actually need it, then great, but I think the majority of medications are over-prescribed when there are often safer ways of fixing the cause, not just the symptoms.

    Doctors are so fearful of malpractice lawsuits that the “better safe than sorry” approach to prescribing medication is ubiquitous. I rarely see a doctor, but I have turned down unnecessary medications almost every time I have gone. Think how many people just take that slip of paper and fill the scrip without even thinking about it. Scary.

Leave a Reply

