The Expense of Running Shoes

Moses found a great link to an article about how the most expensive running shoes in the world don’t provide any injury prevention and in fact, are more likely to cause it. I know a lot of my friends are runners so I thought this article may be of particular interest to them.

You can read up on the details in the article, but basically the way your foot behaves in a shoe is completely different than when walking or running barefoot. The altered gait is responsible for the common injuries the majority of runners will eventually face.

Runners wearing top-of-the-line trainers are 123 per cent more likely to get injured than runners in cheap ones.

A Nike researcher filmed athletes running barefoot:

Instead of each foot clomping down as it would in a shoe, it behaved like an animal with a mind of its own – stretching, grasping, seeking the ground with splayed toes, gliding in for a landing like a lake-bound swan.

I’m not a runner, but I can say from my experience with dancing barefoot what a difference it makes in the way your muscles are used. Since I have been on a hiatus from the daily dance activities I used to do, I’ve noticed that when I do the occasional performance my feet get tired, will often cramp, and my knees and lower back become sore. All this discomfort just from atrophy in the stabilizing muscles in the feet and ankles.

I also noticed when I watched the Olympics last year that the runners nearly all had very thin shoes that conformed tightly to the feet. They must be in the know and not falling for the millions of dollars spent in advertising the newest most technically advanced running shoes.

I think next time I look for shoes, I’ll try my best to find some of the lightweight, less cushioned shoes and see how I do in them. As an almost trainer, if you were to switch from expensive shoes to simpler ones, or even go barefoot, I’d recommend starting out very slowly. It takes a lot of time for the muscles, tendons and bones to adapt to stabilizing the impact of running.

I wear the Under Armour Proto shoes and I love them specifically because they are so cushy and really hug the foot. Maybe I should try the bushman shoes instead.

Nike Shox $165


Masai Warrior footwear $0

3 thoughts on “The Expense of Running Shoes

  1. I read a different article about this a while ago – I wish I could remember where. It said the same things, and talked about new shoes whose soles are just think enough to protect your skin from the ground, but let your feet do what they're meant to do!

Leave a Reply

