Why Giving In Doesn’t Mean Giving Up

never-give-up

I originally moved to Austin a little over two years ago to start my own health & wellness business. I’ll give it a year, I thought. That’s enough time to get established.

I vastly underestimated the amount of time it would take to immerse myself in a new city and a new community. It wasn’t until at least a year and half went by that I really felt like I was finally starting meet some people and make friends. My business was going nowhere, but, I thought, I’m just starting to build my network so I need more time. Unfortunately bills don’t wait for you to build an established clientele so I started personal training at a major gym chain.

Nearly a year and a half went by working at the gym and clientele had slowed to a crawl for all of us. Looking at the accumulating debt and shrinking paychecks I decided I could no longer give the gym more time to make it work. I had dabbled in viewing Craig’s List ads and could never quite commit to sending out a resume that would chain me to a desk again. On a whim one night, I sent out a resume thinking nothing would come of it. I got a call back the very next day which led to an offer I couldn’t ignore.

Though I made it known how thrilled I would be to work with this company, a part of me rebelled. Why am I giving up everything I have worked for the past 2 years? Would I be selling myself out for the comfort of a steady paycheck? If I go back to an 8 to 5 job is the dream dead? Am I trading the potential to change someone’s life for a stapler and some white-out?

I wrestled with this for quite some time before I made peace with my decision. Here’s how. First, I had to accept that it’s ok to take care of myself. My mounting debt was a big source of stress for me and knowing I can reduce and soon eliminate it is like a huge burden removed from my life. It’s ok to do what you need to do to pay your bills.

Second, I realized my opportunity to work with clients or teach classes or workshops wouldn’t really be hindered. Most of my successes have come in the hours when the public is free, on nights and weekends. If anything, I now have more time for these opportunities since I was working nights and weekends at the gym.

Third, I now have the time to attend events where I can enjoy myself, network, and potentially meet new clients. I am now looking at my business as a hobby that brings me extra income instead of a job that I am failing at. This releases the negativity I have associated with it and allows me to have passion for health again.

So, I did give in to taking care of my needs, but I didn’t give up. If someone wants my help, I will give it with enthusiasm. I will still learn about the newest research and health trends. I will continue to blog about health, wellness or my experiences in life. And I will still let my hair down (well, if I had enough to let down) and dance with passion when the opportunities arise.

I am grateful for the opportunity that a desk job is giving me. The chance to be debt free and to have the income to GO! and DO STUFF! again. I am so excited about that. Call me sometime; we’ll go have coffee. My treat, because, I can afford that now.

4 thoughts on “Why Giving In Doesn’t Mean Giving Up

  1. Anali says:

    So true! I think it’s a mistake to tie your self worth to what you do to make ends meet. You can still make time to do the the things you love!

  2. Lois says:

    It takes great courage and introspection to course correct and see the benefits of where you’ve been and where you’re going next. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

